Vegan Crockpot Lasagna

I am trying out a new diet for Hunter in hopes to reduce his spastic and sometimes aggressive behavior. No, he is not ADD or ADHD, he just gets really carried away sometimes and I have been doing a lot of research that diary allergies may manifest itself in behavior/hyperactivity issues. Hunter could not have dairy for a good chunk of the first part of his life and we thought maybe he would be over it but maybe not. Parker is allergic to dairy as was Isaac for a good chunk of his early years….I guess it is a Wildman thing 🙂

I decided I wanted to give a try for vegan lasagna since it’s usually a big hit in this house but with the temps reaching 100 degrees, having the oven on for 1 hour is less than ideal. Enter, crockpot.

Here’s what I did. I got regular old pasta sauce (yes, if I had more time in my life, I would make it myself but I don’t so I didn’t!), no bake lasagna noodles, zucchini, cashews, herbs from the garden andme tofu. You ask, where’s the cheese?? We do survive on Daiya vegan cheese which is awesome but I wanted to try something a little different.

For the vegan cashew ricotta I took a handful, maybe a cup, of raw cashew pieces, 1/2 block of extra firm tofu, herbs, sea salt, pepper and a bit of water in the Cuisinart and pureed it all up until it was the consistency or ricotta – VIOLA!

I put the pasta sauce done first and then the noodles (you will have to break them apart to fit), I layered the “ricotta” and veggies and then more pasta, repeat until about 3/4 the way up. Add a little bit of water and if you choose, put some Daiya cheese on the top or a little nutritional yeast. We can’t do the yeast here because it gives us some digestive issues but it is really yummy and adds some of that nutty flavor most people miss when not eating cheese.

I put it on high for 4 hours or low for 8, just make sure it’s not drying out!

Enjoy!

If you have a variation that you tried, let me know!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

