Roasted Chickpeas

Who knew that chickpeas were a source of tryptophan? I love these little beans and this is just the perfect go-to snack for a busy working, school-going, breastfeeding on the run mama. Here is a great recipe for roasted chickpeas I thought I would share with you. I’m off to make these so I can have a crunchy snack to keep me awake while I facilitate my group tonight….but wait, will the tryptophan take over? I hope not!!

Crunchy Roasted Chickpeas

2 1/2 cups chickpeas, drained and gently blotted with a kitchen towel
2 Tbs coconut oil or olive oil
1 Tbs chili powder
1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp sea salt

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Toss the chickpeas in a bowl, add the oil and spices and mix until everything is coated. Taste and add more seasoning if necessary.

Lay the chickpeas on a baking sheet lined with a silpat or parchment paper. Bake for 45-60 minutes, giving them a stir every 10 minutes or so, until they are shrunken and crunchy.

Allow them to cool. Then devour.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Bernadette

    Jordan! I made the roasted chickpeas and they were awesome. Thanks so much for that. I have a recipe for super yummy and filling Peanut Butter balls that are a no bake recipe filled with flax seed, quinoa flakes and sesame seeds. I can’t seem to attach it to the post so I will send you an email.

    Love,
    bernadette

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

